Testimony of my Salvation through Jesus Christ

I was a senior in high school on February 29, 2004 when I saw Mel Gibson’s The Passion of the Christ.  I don’t care too much for the movie now because of doctrinal issues, but I know God used it to make Jesus’ sacrifice less of a story and more of a reality to me. I was convicted of my sin and my rejection of Christ in the movie theater, and then was saved at my then church after kneeling and praying with my pastor’s wife.  I had never even heard the word “saved”, let alone knew what it meant. All I knew was that God loved me enough to do that for me, and I wanted to live in a way that pleased Him and turn away from the life that didn’t please Him. I was truly broken. Psalm 34:18 The LORD is nigh unto them that are of a broken heart; and saveth such as be of a contrite spirit.

I remained a luke-warm Christian for a few years, probably because I didn’t really know any better. I loved God, just didn’t know how to live out that love on a daily basis. I became more serious about Christ and living for Him when I started attending my current church in January 2007. (First Baptist Church of Jackson www.fbcj.com)

The sermons and studies really convict me to do more for God. To live a broken and holy life because He is holy .To share the hope that is in me, and to care for souls who don’t know Him. I want to know more about Him and His Word all the time, I actually look forward to going to church on Sundays and Wednesdays! 😉

My life is far from perfect, I fall short everyday. Thankfully though, when God looks at me, He sees His perfect Son’s sacrifice. 🙂

Becoming Saved through the blood of Jesus Christ isn’t hard at all. We must acknowledge we are sinners, confess that to God, repent of our sin, and call on Jesus Christ to save us from it. God is faithful in answering our call. Psalm 51:17 The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit: a broken and a contrite heart, O God, thou wilt not despise.

Here are a few verses to help, I am always available for any questions 🙂

Acts 16:30-31 30And brought them out, and said, Sirs, what must I do to be saved? 31And they said, Believe on the Lord Jesus Christ, and thou shalt be saved, and thy house.

Ephesians 2:8-9 8For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God: 9Not of works, lest any man should boast.

John 3:15-16 15That whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have eternal life.16For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.

John 14:6  6Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.

Romans 10:9-10  9That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved.   10For with the heart man believeth unto righteousness; and with the mouth confession is made unto salvation.

           

Leave a Reply

