Two favorite cookie recipes

I make these cookies most often for people and everyone seems to enjoy them. I wanted to share the recipes in case anyone would like to make them 🙂

The first is ordinary chocolate chip cookies. I think the original recipe is Pillsbury, but over the years I have tweaked it to make it my own. I just call them “Emily’s Chocolate Chip Cookies”…creative, I know.

1/3 c butter flavored shortening

1/3 c vegetable oil

1/2 c white sugar

1/2 c packed light brown sugar

1 egg

1/2 t vanilla extract

1 1/2 c all-purpose white flour

1 t baking soda

1/2 t salt

chocolate chips

Put the shortening, oil, and sugars into a large bowl and mix using electric beaters. I like using the beaters because they are easier than hand mixing with a spoon, and Zane likes the beaters because he always gets to lick one! Then I add the egg and vanilla, I use a spoon from this point on (don’t want Zane eating raw eggs). Mix them in well. Add in soda, salt, and flour. Mix well. I don’t measure the chocolate chips, just add until it looks like enough. A lot of making these cookies is knowing how the dough is supposed to look, feel, and taste (yum!). I’ve been making these cookies for many years, so I do a lot of eye-ball tests.

Bake at 375 for 8-10 minutes. 9 1/2 minutes is perfect for my oven. Bake until they look almost done, that’s how they stay soft.

This next recipe is from my Grandma, I’m not sure where she got it. These are Cut-Out Cookies.

1/2 c vegetable oil

1 c sugar

2 eggs

Mix well.

2 T cream (I usually use heavy whipping cream or 1/2&1/2, I’ve also used whole milk, whatever I have on hand)

1 t vanilla extract

Mix well.

2 1/2 c flour

1/4 t baking soda

1/2 t salt

Mix well.

After all ingredients are mixed well, cover and put in fridge for at least 1 hour. I usually chill over night.

Roll out dough on floured surface (1/4″ or thinner depending on how thick you want the cookies) and cut out in desired shapes.

Bake at 350 for 6-10 minutes. Obviously if you roll the dough a little thicker they will take a little longer. I usually bake until the sides are just slightly brown, then I take them out.

These cookies are really yummy with homemade frosting! I don’t have a recipe for icing, I just add powdered sugar, milk, vanilla, and softened butter until the consistency is right.

Oh and don’t forget about the blob, it’s just as tasty as the nice looking cookies! 😛Blob

Leave a Reply

