Why do you wear skirts?

I’m afraid the answer to this question may disappoint…or may be a relief that I’m not in a cult. 🙂 Either way, the reason is probably not as exciting as people think.

In short, I wear skirts 99% of the time because…wait for it…I like them. I like how they feel and I like how they look. I’ve found skirts are more comfortable for doing chores around the house, walking around, pretty much anything. I also like how they are more modest than most pants, I feel more confident and feminine.

I’d like to go over a few things that do not affect my decision in wearing skirts.

1) The belief that women should not wear what a man wears and visa versa. Deuteronomy 22:5 states: The woman shall not wear that which pertaineth unto a man, neither shall a man put on a woman’s garment: for all that do so are abomination unto the LORD thy God. 

I am definitely not putting down brothers and sisters who choose to obey Old Testament laws. I believe we are no longer under law, but under grace.

Romans 6: 14For sin shall not have dominion over you: for ye are not under the law, but under grace. 15What then? shall we sin, because we are not under the law, but under grace? God forbid.

Galatians 3:23But before faith came, we were kept under the law, shut up unto the faith which should afterwards be revealed. 24Wherefore the law was our schoolmaster to bring us unto Christ, that we might be justified by faith.  25But after that faith is come, we are no longer under a schoolmaster. 26For ye are all the children of God by faith in Christ Jesus. 27For as many of you as have been baptized into Christ have put on Christ. 28There is neither Jew nor Greek, there is neither bond nor free, there is neither male nor female: for ye are all one in Christ Jesus.

Galatians 4:9But now, after that ye have known God, or rather are known of God, how turn ye again to the weak and beggarly elements, whereunto ye desire again to be in bondage?

However, even if this verse did still apply for today, what makes skirts a woman’s garment and pants a man’s? When Moses wrote the Law, everyone wore robes. Depending on the cut and style of the robe people could recognize it as a man’s or woman’s robe. Similarly, today pants have different cuts and styles.

Other clothing items also depend on cut and style, such as t-shirts, undergarments, socks, gloves, shoes. And many items depend solely on color, for example a navy blue hat vs. a bright pink hat.

2) The belief that all pants are too immodest for women to wear. I do believe many styles of pants are immodest, especially in trendy jeans. This is my personal preference. Scripture calls women to dress in modest apparel, that is the extent of it.

3) The belief that women are inferior to men and need to know their place! Galatians 3:28 quoted above addresses this, we are all equal in Christ. Women are called to do a different and very special job in Scripture (to be a help meet and keeper of the home- I’m sure I will write a blog or several on this topic), but different does not automatically mean inferior or subservient.

4) I’ve only read this belief once, but may as well address it: the word “apparel” in 1 Timothy 2:9 In like manner also, that women adorn themselves in modest apparel, with shamefacedness and sobriety; not with broided hair, or gold, or pearls, or costly array; in the Greek means “1) a lowering, letting down, 2) a garment let down, dress, attire”. Pants cannot possibly “lower or let down”. However, I’m sure the robe-type garments both men and women wore during Paul’s life lowered and let down. Perhaps women’s were slightly longer, I don’t know, either way, cut and style were key same as during Moses’ time.

Skirts are also so much fun to make! Have an old pair of jeans you’re going to throw out? Why not make them into a cute skirt instead! 😉 These are two skirts I’ve made. Please excuse my dogs, Belle (yellow) is a photo hog! Penny (black) must have just wanted pet.

So, there you have it. Hopefully no one was expecting a big, controversial answer. 😉 I always thought women who wore only skirts were weird and legalistic, I’m sure some are…but rest assured, some of us are normal women who just happened to like skirts! 🙂

One thought on “Why do you wear skirts?

  1. I totally agree with your interpretation of the Deuteronomy verse. Women’s clothing is obviously women’s clothing even it is pants.

    I love wearing skirts because I am a girly girl. I live in a windy area so it is not generally more modest than pants, but I just like them! Also, I come from a religion where women generally dress in skirts. We interpret modesty a little differently than Christians do; modesty means *not calling attention to yourself* and refers more to a set of behaviors. The clothes are an important part of that, though. It’s hard to consider a Chassidic man modest considering the attention that their garments receive in normal American populations, but that is their own business.

    When/if you have a little girl, it is very easy to make tiered skirts (like the peasant style) for them. No pattern needed, and there are instructions on the internet. They can be fancied up by putting a band of ribbon or lace at the seams between the tiers. Little girls love them because they can choose the fabric and create something that is totally “them”; also, the tiered skirts have that flare when they spin around, which is very important to my younger daughter.

    I remember making a skirt out of beautiful material for my oldest daughter when she was 3 or 4, and she told me she was never getting storebought clothing again! She loved it so much. She luckily got over that, because sewing takes a lot more time than running to the Goodwill.

Leave a Reply

