My mission field

My church recently sent a group of young adults to Ireland for a 10 day or so mission trip. They held a VBS at a local church run by permanent missionaries we help to support. My church also sends missions groups to places like the Phillipenes and Mexico. Either way, the bottom line is, they are going to the utter most. Something big and exciting! Going to a foreign country to spread the Gospel, nothing so literally obeys Christ’s command in Matthew 28:19 to “Go and teach all nations”, especially in such a beautiful country with its rolling green hills and ancient buildings.

Now, how exciting does sweeping the kitchen floor, scrubbing dog throw up from the carpet, and wiping poopy bottoms sound compared to going to Ireland? Not very. It may not be riveting work, but it is necessary and very important! For me, this blog is about a year too late. I have already realized the importance of being a stay-at-home-mom shortly after my son was born, after years of feeling like being a wife and mom were stupid, pointless jobs in themselves. Wifehood and motherhood are two underappreciated jobs in our society, so it is easy for discouragement and doubt to creep into even the strongest mother/wife’s life.

I’m not talking about merely keeping our houses nice, obviously. I do believe that is important, but not the most important. The souls we are called to care for and help are more important.

Mothers are usually primary care givers to their children, therefore mothers hold the next generation of our society in their hands. How we raise and teach them determines the fate of this country. A scary thought, what a huge responsibility. Luke 12:48b For unto whomsoever much is given, of him shall be much required: I think most mamas would agree, our children are “much”. Love them, teach them, raise them in the Lord. What you engrain in them now will not leave them, Proverbs 22:6 Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it. Usually this verse is said in a positive light- raise your children in God’s Word and they will believe when they are older. I believe it can go the opposite way as well- raise your children to be selfish, mean, have a bad attitude and when they are old, they will not depart from those things.

This special calling reserved for women isn’t just for mothers though. Not many know that Eve was originally created to be a help meet for Adam. I always thought she was created so they could fill the earth, which comes with being a help meet much of the time, but that wasn’t her primary function. Genesis 2:18 And the LORD God said, It is not good that the man should be alone; I will make him an help meet for him. 23 And Adam said, This is now bone of my bones, and flesh of my flesh: she shall be called Woman, because she was taken out of Man. If you are anything like I was the first time I heard this, you’re “sexism alert” is going bonkers! My heart has softened since then, I now see this is an amazing calling for many women…to help their husbands. Wives are held in high esteem in Scripture. Many wives look to Proverbs 31 (The Virtuous Woman) to help their daily walk as a wife, mother, and daughter of Christ. Proverbs 31 is all about how righteous women are far above rubies. I quickly googled “most expensive jewelry”, the Heart of the Kingdom Ruby is a 40.6 carat ruby that sits atop a 155 carat diamond necklace. Valued at $14 million dollars! My brain doesn’t even comprehend millions of dollars! Righteous women are valued above that outrageous amount. My guess is our role is an important one.

Some missions are grand, others are simple. Some missions are short-term, others last over a lifetime. Some are in far away lands, others are right here in our homes. Home is my mission field, and I am thankful for it.

Leave a Reply

