“Woman’s Day” article on cursing

Recently I read an article in Woman’s Day. It was about a lady who was appalled by the language used in public today. She recalled working out at the gym and hearing a song that explicitly used the F-word. Another time she called out a few teenagers using colorful langauge when walking her children to school. At that point in the article, I fully agreed! I hate the display of bad langauge in our society. Most of it totally acceptable. Since when are certain words allowed in everyday TV shows? Like the B-word…last I checked that was an insulting, swear word for women. When asking someone to not cuss on my facebook page (the D-word), the woman replied “Oh, I guess to some that is a curse word, I’m sorry”. I’m not sure one can get more curse-y than “damnation”, condemning someone to hell. Yet, obviously, not everyone considers this a curse word.

Then the article changed. She, herself, curses. “Never in front of my children”, only when with friends. It definitely made me think of these verses: Luke 18:11-12  The Pharisee stood and prayed thus with himself, God, I thank thee, that I am not as other men are, extortioners, unjust, adulterers, or even as this publican.  I fast twice in the week, I give tithes of all that I possess. Or, more relevantly…”The woman peddled on her stationary bike at the gym, thinking to herself, thank God I do not curse in public, like the songs playing or the teenagers up the street. I only curse in front of my friends, never my children. I am a much better person.”

Is she really? When Peter denied knowing Christ, he swears. Read carefully, Peter tried denying Jesus twice before cursing to really drive the point home…Matthew 26:69-74 69 Now Peter sat without in the palace: and a damsel came unto him, saying, Thou also wast with Jesus of Galilee.70 But he denied before them all, saying, I know not what thou sayest.71 And when he was gone out into the porch, another maid saw him, and said unto them that were there, This fellow was also with Jesus of Nazareth.72 And again he denied with an oath, I do not know the man.73 And after a while came unto him they that stood by, and said to Peter, Surely thou also art one of them; for thy speech bewrayeth thee.74 Then began he to curse and to swear, saying, I know not the man. And immediately the cock crew. It is also interesting to note, his speech (or lack of cursing) gave away Peter was a follower of Christ. The language you use is your testimony. It’s implied Peter did not know these people, all they had to go on was what came out of his mouth. By that information alone, they placed him with Christ.

The author of the article’s own father used to say “It doesn’t take very much talent to cuss.” My grandpa used to say something similar, along the lines of “Cursing just means you can’t think of anything more intelligent to say.”

James 3:10 Out of the same mouth proceedeth blessing and cursing. My brethren, these things
ought not so to be.

_53097327_swearing1

Leave a Reply

