The One Sided-ness of Politicial Correctness

lack of pc

I am not offended by this comment, even though I have been a member of a (Independent) Baptist church for the last 8 years, I’m really not. I do not consider myself a Baptist, I consider myself a born-again Christian who happens to go to a Baptist church. And, frankly, I don’t believe in this silly concept of being offended, but that’s for another blog post. I also do not want to come off as a wanna-be martyr, I do not consider myself one. The little persecution I have received from family and friends isn’t even worth mentioning when compared to those of my faith who have been tortured and killed. Anabaptists were hated by both Catholics and Protestants back several hundred years ago, and many were burned at the stake. Today, Christians in the Mid-East are fleeing for their lives, hoping they will make it. This isn’t a “poor me I’m a Christian and people hate me” post.

This is a vent about the one sided-ness of political correctness. Ironically, the man in red is a pastor of a church (howbeit a very liberal one), and I don’t really know anything about the man in green. The liberalness of the pastor in red’s church means he would never, ever say anything negative or stereotypical of certain groups of people: homosexuals, Muslims, transgenders, feminists, etc. However, it is evident certain groups are outside his scope of concern and “Christian love”. While the pastor in red did not say the comment, he didn’t rebuke or rebuttal it either. Would he have if the comment was about a previously mentioned group? I don’t know, but my guess is probably.

I’m also not too sure what this comment about Baptists means. Perhaps Baptists who are part of the “Baptist Organization of America” (or whatever it’s called) live by their own rules. I know many churches add and take away from Scripture, including Baptist ones, but also the pastor in red’s church. Perhaps they’re referring to those kind of IFBs. I don’t know. But really, that’s not the point. Lumping all Baptists in the same group is not tolerant, accepting, or loving. They would be livid if I lumped all homosexuals together as acting a certain way. Political correctness covers homosexuals, it doesn’t cover Christians. And evidently it especially doesn’t cover Baptists.

(I hid their identities because I believe privacy is important.)

Leave a Reply

